إعادة الحركة بعد الإصابة بالشلل: قصة نجاح عملية استئصال الصفيحة الفقرية المعدلة مع وجود تورم دموي تحت الجافية في الرأس في مستشفى زعبيل البيطري

 

باري كلب يبلغ من العمر 3 أشهر جاء إلى مستشفى زعبيل البيطري مصابًا بشلل نصفي في الطرف الخلفي. اعتاد باري أن يكون سعيدًا ونشطًا مثل أي جرو آخر. ذات يوم، لاحظ المالك فجأة أنه غير قادر على الحركة أو المشي بشكل طبيعي. لقد ذهبوا إلى عيادة بيطرية أخرى وقرروا الحصول على رأي ثانٍ، عند الفحص، كان باري يفتقر إلى الإحساس بالألم العميق.

 

بدافع من حبهم الحقيقي لحيوانهم الأليف، كان المالكون مصممين على فعل كل شيء لباري لمساعدته على التعافي. تم إجراء التصوير بالرنين المغناطيسي، والذي كشف عن ضغط شديد في الحبل الشوكي عن طريق عملية الكتلة على مستوى فقرة T11، مما تسبب في عدم قدرة باري على استخدام أطرافه الخلفية.

 

قام المتخصصون في مستشفى زعبيل البيطري بتشخيص حالته وقرروا إجراء جراحة استئصال الصفيحة الفقرية. استئصال الصفيحة الفقرية هو نوع من الجراحة التي تنطوي على إزالة جزء أو كل العظام في العامود الفقري. كانت هذه الجراحة ضرورية لتخفيف الضغط على عموده الفقري واستعادة الحركة والإحساس في أطرافه الخلفية. لقد كان إجراءً جراحيًا دقيقًا، ولكن كان لا بد من القيام به للمساعدة في استعادة حركة باري وإحساسه على رجليه الخلفيتين.

 

انتظر الملاك باري بفارغ الصبر خلال خضوعه للعملية الطويلة، وتحمل الجرو الشجاع طوال الوقت. عندما تم إخراج باري من غرفة الجراحة إلى الشفاء، انتهت أخيرًا أول خطوة كبيرة من بين العديد، وكان كل ما يحتاجه باري وقتها هو الصبر والوقت.

 

بعد ثلاثة أيام من الجراحة في مستشفى زعبيل البيطري، كانت ساقا باري ترتعشتان وغير ثابتتان. كان لابد من تشجيع باري على التحرك للتأكد من حصوله على أقصى استفادة من الجراحة. استمر باري على روتين تمارين المشي اليومية والعلاج الطبيعي بشجاعة.

 

في المنزل، انتقل باري إلى استخدام كرسي متحرك، ليتمكن من القيام بالمزيد من الحركة والمناورات. صمم أصحابه على إعادته للوقوف على قدميه، فقدموا لباري جلسات تمارين رياضية. في غضون أسبوعين بعد الجراحة، تمكن باري من استخدام أطرافه الخلفية أثناء المشي على كرسي متحرك، لكن العجز العصبي كان لا يزال كبيرًا، وكان بحاجة إلى مزيد من إعادة التأهيل.

 

في الأسبوع الثالث بعد الجراحة، لاحظ الأطباء البيطريون في باري تحسنًا ملحوظًا في مشيته، فقد كان يستخدم ساقيه أكثر، لكن ما زال نقص استقبال الحس العميق موجودًا. كان هناك المزيد من العمل الذي يتعين القيام به، لكن باري صمد وتحمل. بعد 4 أسابيع من الجراحة، كان العجز العصبي بالكاد ملحوظًا، وكان تقدمه مثيرًا للإعجاب. كل هذا الجهد كان يستحق العناء.

 

منذ ذلك الحين، وبفضل تفاني مالكيه وصبره، تحسنت حالة باري. لقد تعافى تمامًا وأصبح الآن قادرًا على المشي بدون كرسي متحرك.

 

شاهد باري وهو يتجول في ردهة المستشفى بعد عام و3 أشهر من الجراحة الناجحة.

Privacy Preference Center

The paralyzed revitalized: The success story of a modified laminectomy in case of a subdural hematoma at Zabeel Veterinary Hospital

 

Barry is a 3 months old male dog who came to the Zabeel Veterinary Hospital non-ambulatory with hind limb paraplegia. Barry used to be happy and active like any other puppy. One day, the owners suddenly noticed that he was not able to move or walk normally. They had been to another Veterinary practice and decided to have a second opinion, on examination, Barry lacked deep pain sensation.

 

Driven by their genuine love for their pet, the owners were determined to do everything for Barry to help him recover. MRI was performed, and his scans revealed a severe spinal cord compression by mass process on the level of T11 vertebra, causing Barry’s inability to use his hind limbs.

 

Professionals at Zabeel Veterinary Hospital diagnosed his condition and decided that a laminectomy surgery needed to be performed. A laminectomy is a type of surgery that involves removing part or all of the bones in the vertebral arch. This surgery was needed to alleviate the compression on his spine and restore the motion and sensitivity in his hind limbs. It was a delicate surgical procedure, but it was needed to be done to help restore Barry’s movement and sensation on his hind legs

 

Barry’s owners anxiously awaited as he underwent the long procedure, and the brave puppy endured throughout. When Barry was wheeled out of the surgery room and into recovery, the first big step out of many was finally over, all Barry needed then was patience and time.

 

Three days after his surgery at Zabeel Veterinary Hospital, Barry’s legs were still shaky and not steady. Barry had to be encouraged to move to make sure he gets the most out of the surgery. He fearlessly faced the daily assisted walking exercises and physiotherapy one small step at a time – a routine which he continued to do for the days that followed.

 

At home, Barry had transitioned to using a wheelchair, so more movement and maneuvers can be done. His owners determined to get him back on his feet religiously provided Barry with exercise sessions. Within two weeks after the surgery, Barry was able to use his hind limbs while walking in the wheelchair, but the neurological deficit was still significant, and he needed to undergo more rehabilitation.

 

On the 3rd week after his surgery, Barry’s vets noticed a significant improvement in his gait, he was using his legs more, but residual lack of proprioception was still present. There was more work to be done, but Barry willingly took everything in stride. After 4 weeks from the surgery, the proprioceptive deficit was barely noticeable, and his progress was impressive. All the effort had been worthwhile.

 

Since then, with his owner’s dedication and patience, Barry’s condition has improved. He has fully recovered and is now capable of walking without wheelchair support.

 

Watch Barry take a stroll in the hospital hallway 1 year and 3 months after his successful surgery.

Privacy Preference Center